Why do I have to login twice? Is there a blip in the system?

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by omar, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. omar

    omar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    *Apologies: I wasn't sure where to post this question! There is no 'general questions forum'*

    Can someone tell me why, 20% of the time, I have to login twice?

    It seems to be a blip in the system?

    I'll login typing in the correct username and password, and a few seconds later, I will be taken to the login screen again

    This happens both with the amember admin login + my end user logins

    Or is there a setting that is not correct on my hosting?

    Thanks


    Omar
  2. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,413
    Sounds like a hosting issue- maybe erasing your session info quickly.

    David
  3. amy66

    amy66 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Yeah its most likely a hosting issue. [​IMG]
  4. omar

    omar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    guys

    thanks for the replies

    "Sounds like a hosting issue- maybe erasing your session info quickly."

    do you mean to say 'erasing too quickly'?

    i haven't made any changes to the server or environment that i think would effect this
    + as i said: it only happens 20% of the time!
    when it does happen, if u give the correct login details, u get logged in fine

    let me know what u think

    thanks
  5. codeispoetry

    codeispoetry aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Hi omar,

    Check the URL you are are logging in from. Does it have "www", i.e. "www.yoursite.com" or just "yoursite.com"?

    You need to use the same URL address (either with "WWW" or without) throughout your entire site to ensure that your login cookies are registered correctly with aMember.

    Let me know how it goes.

    Cheers,
    Lee
  6. omar

    omar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    i think that's it! :)
    thank u thank u thank u! :)

    question: what do u do? do u do coding with amember?
    i'm looking to hire someone to go over my system and give a critique and recommendations for improving = implementing those improvements
    let me know
    thanks

    (ps: i'll reply tomorrow if u reply - the amember message board *does not* and does NOT tell u when u have a reply to a subscribed thread!)
  7. skippybosco

    skippybosco CGI-Central Partner Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,523
    to prevent this in the future you can lock your site to one or the other via .htaccess using something like this in the root of your site.

    Code:
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.([^\.]+\.[^\.]+)$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]
  8. codeispoetry

    codeispoetry aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Hey Omar,

    Yes, I realised that too! (regarding reply to subscribed thread) Sorry that I just saw your reply.

    Yes we do coding with aMember, feel free to drop an email to me with stuff you might need help in... codeispoetry [at] amemberincremental.com

    You can see more about some of the stuff we do at www.amemberincremental.com :)

    Lee

Share This Page