Problems Moving Past Step 6 of 6 of Installation

Discussion in 'Installation' started by tim_ferg, Jul 5, 2013.

1. tim_ferg

tim_ferg New Member

Hi folks,

I've been using aMember for 7 years and been very satisfied. This year I encountered a problem I have never seen before. On arriving at the Step 6 of 6 screen, if I click any link to continue, I immediately get an HTTP 50o Internal Server Error.

When looking at the error file, it shows this:

File '/home/public_html/amember/config.inc.php' is already exists and non-empty. Please remove it or delete all content if you want to do full reconfiguration

If I delete the file, it takes me back to the Step 1 of 1 setup screen. As I re-enter all the information, I make it back to step 6 of 6 and experience the same HTTP 500 Internal Server Error and error message. It's like I hit a wall once reaching step 6 of 6!

Anyone else have this problem or have any suggestions?

Thanks!
    Tim
  2. tim_ferg

tim_ferg New Member

The other thing I notice is:

SoftException in Application.cpp:601: Directory "/home/public_html/amember" is writeable by group, referer: "/amember/setup.php?step=5"

Just showing I am having trouble getting off the page of Step 6 of 6 when clicking any link on that page. Like previous years where we have successfully installed, we have all folders set to permission 755.
  3. tim_ferg

tim_ferg New Member

Well, I'll close the loop here. I never got a definitive answer as to the problem (as in "fix X" or "change Y"), but aMember support said I needed to update my version of aMember from the version 3 I was running to version 4.x as the version I was using was not compatible with the latest PHP release.

I did that and everything seems to be working fine now. Maybe this will help someone else downstream experiencing a similar problem as mine. It's not a clear, clean answer, but it is a possible solution if in a pinch.
  4. thehpmc

thehpmc Member