Problem with brick labels after upgrade to 5.1.7

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by johnww, Dec 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnww

    johnww aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    I just upgraded to v5.1.7 from v4.6.3. After the upgrade, I am not able to edit the brick labels or modify the brick configuration in the form edit page.

    I see links "configure" and "label" but these links have no action. This video illustrates the problem:

    http://screencast.com/t/NMJxXjvA

    I am using the "default" theme for the admin pages.
  2. caesar

    caesar aMember Pro Developer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,669
    Hello,

    I guess it is browser cache issue. It seems your browser still uses JS file from previous version.

    Do you mind to either clear browser cache (usually Ctrl+F5) or try another browser.
    It should fix this issue.

    Best Regards.
  3. johnww

    johnww aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    I did test clearing browser cache and other browsers. The same problem is present in Chrome, Firefox and Safari.
  4. ccwjames

    ccwjames Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    did u run the db update when upgraded?
  5. johnww

    johnww aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Yes. I ran the db update.
  6. caesar

    caesar aMember Pro Developer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,669
    Do you use custom theme? Did you copy JS files to your theme folder?

    Do you mind to contact us in helpdesk?
    https://www.amember.com/support

    I will troubleshoot this issue as soon as possible.

    Best Regards.
  7. caesar

    caesar aMember Pro Developer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,669
    I want to update this thread with resolution for such issue. Just in case someone with similar issue find this thread in google.

    Issue:
    - aMember uses JS assets from custom theme folder (old assets from previous version)
    In turn it cause issue because these JS files was updated in recent version.

    Resolution:
    - do not copy JS files to theme folders. It is not necessary to customize these files.
    To fix issue just remove folder public/js in theme folder if exits

    Important side note regarding theme development:
    You need to copy to your theme folder only template files that you want to change. It is not necessary to copy all files from default theme to your theme folder. aMember will check template in your them folder first and if not find it then fallback to default folder. Usually you need to edit only one file - layout.phtml

    Reference:
    http://www.amember.com/docs/Themes_and_Templates
    relapse likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page