Pre sales- Joomla Question

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by electrichi01, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. electrichi01

    electrichi01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Hello
    If you purchase for $179, will you also need the $40 Joomla plug in as well?
    Sorry for the rookie question, but wanted to know before I pull the trigger.

    Thanks

    Keith

    electrichi01@yahoo.com
  2. codeispoetry

    codeispoetry aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Hi Keith,

    If you are looking to integrate aMember with Joomla, yes you will need the $40 Joomla plugin as well.

    Cheers,
    Lee
  3. electrichi01

    electrichi01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Lee

    Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it.

    I was wondering how folks have been making the Joomla 1.5 work with this software, as I have read of some challenges integrating it?

    Thanks

    Keith
  4. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    It works well. If you want to have multiple levels of membership you will also need the plugin from BYOS called Jacl.

    David
  5. codeispoetry

    codeispoetry aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Hey Keith,

    Sure :)

    Good luck with your Joomla integration!

    Lee

  6. steveorg

    steveorg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I have the same Joomla integration question, but I don't think that JACL is a viable way to integrate. Here are some quotes extracted from JACL's reviews:
    To be fair, there are also many positive reviews. However, since their website has been down for at least four hours, they may be out of business.

    In any case this is not a reasonable foundation for a business. Would amember consider using other components to integrate with Joomla, such as JUGA or noixACL?

    -Steve
  7. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    I think you could use JUGa or noixACL. When I first got into integrating, I couldnt get them to work, so went with JACL.

    David
  8. steveorg

    steveorg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    The JACL site outage was temporary. They posted this on their site:

    -Steve
  9. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    Happens sometimes to all of us....

    No such thing as 100% uptime. Even 99% uptime means at least 3 days down a year.

    David
  10. astrup

    astrup New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Joomla ACL

    I have site running with various ACLs - the one I like the most is from http://www.pages-and-items.com/ nice interface and easy to use. Not hacks to the Joomla core or anything. And - great support.

    Astrup
  11. erwinvdb

    erwinvdb aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    How does this one work in combination with aMember?

Share This Page