IPBoard Integration

Discussion in 'Integration' started by wcwman18, May 28, 2015.

  1. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I have the plug in for IPBoard. How can my users from that database log in to amember with their same details?
  2. edward_shephard

    edward_shephard aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    I presume that you've now worked this out from the other thread, but please post again if you're still having problems.
  3. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I am still having problems.
  4. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    1. I have 2 servers one with my IPBoard database and 1 with amember pro.

    2. I installed amember pro and am using the Use Database Connection other than configured for aMember feture.
    3. When I test the connection it does connect however when I try and log in with my ipboard user details I get The user name or password is incorrect.

    I am looking to have my IPBoard users intagrated with amember and I can't get anything working.
  5. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Any help? It takes forever to hear back from Amember Support
  6. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Upon researching both databases, I found the problem.

    1. In database for IPB all data that I need is there username, e-mail,pass_hash and salt.

    2. Then I do the import of that file. All users import with no issues however the password field in the amember database shows as NULL and no password like the other file.

    So, not sure how to fix this or if it can be.
  7. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,274
    How did you import users exactly? Did you specify that you are importing IPB password hash in amember CP -> Import Users?
    Do you have aMember CP -> Setup -> Login page -> "Allow to Use Password Hash from 3ty part Scripts to Authenticate User in aMember" enabled?
  8. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Yes to both of your questions.
  9. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    This is what support told me.
    From: <support@cgi-central.net>

    Hi,
    well, since you have IPB at www.xxxx.com and Amember at xxxxxxx.com then single login will not work, becuase cookies will not work for different domains. I thought that is what
    Use Database Connection other than configured for aMember setting was for.
  10. edward_shephard

    edward_shephard aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    To be picky that should read "...3rd party scripts..."
    :)
  11. edward_shephard

    edward_shephard aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Interesting, I presumed that the hash and salt were synchronised by sql and that the cookie just controlled the session.
  12. wcwman18

    wcwman18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Help me understand this.

    1. Their is no way to remotely connect to forum database and be able to log the user in to amember on another domain?

    2. I know users that use VBulliten and can sync the two together and users can use one domain to access the forum and another to make a payment.

    3. I am looking to have one domain be my forum and another be my payment domain. I have seen this done else where and need to know how it can be done on my IPB.

Share This Page