Dynamic display of current number of members.

Discussion in 'Customization & add-ons' started by microlinx, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. microlinx

    microlinx aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Hi Alex:

    I was wondering if there is a way to dynamically display the current number of subscibers on an html page, either inside my protected area or outside the protected area, like on the home "sales" page before someone signs up, so they can see that other's are subscribed and how many.

    It just need it to be automatically updated each time someone subscribes.

    Thanks again for a GREAT script & keep up the good work!
    :D
  2. tomarriola

    tomarriola Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    140
    That sounds like a good idea. I use the invision board plugin and get a similar functionality. We show the latest member names and the number of members. You can also show current subscriber numbers. If you are using invision/amember this is available via the invision ssi.php.

    If you'd just like to display the newest member name, I had Alex rig up some code that does that. Its below.
    Tom

    <?
    include "/path/to/amember/config.inc.php";
    global $db;
    $qry = $db->query("select login from amember_members order by member_id desc limit 1");
    list($login) = mysql_fetch_row($qry);
    print "Latest member: $login";
    ?>
  3. microlinx

    microlinx aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    t:

    Thanks!
    Hopefuly Alex will wander by and be able to answer this one...
    It seems it would be easy enough to do...
  4. tomarriola

    tomarriola Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    140
    I got that got php code via support. If you're waiting for Alex to wander by here you'll have a wait. Post to support with the problem and share it here with us users. I'd like to see what he comes up with.
    Tom

    PS, I had to remove the above code that appeared via an include. Sometimes it wouldn't load right and would show the raw text of the php code.
  5. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    I answered in another topic.

Share This Page