Custom Forms

Discussion in 'Templates customization' started by lvtriclub, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Ok, I read the FAQ about custom forms...I am more a designer than a coder....so, if this is do-able I will go back to the FAQ and try and figure it out...

    Our club has 5 different memberships levels.

    1) Single
    2) Family (up to two members)
    3) Family +1 (up to three members)
    4) Family +2 (up to 4 members)
    5) Family X 2 years

    A single membership must tell us name, address, phone, age, national association membership#
    The Family plus two but have the primary member fill all all the above info and then the secondary member just needs to indicate Name and Age.

    So, I want the forum to work so that if someone clicks Family +1 only then will the extra fields show up. Same with Family + 1 there would be the primary and then redundant fields for Name and Age based on the two extra members. Etc..

    How difficult would this be? And, if that is going to be difficult, where could I enter text on the template that indicates that for each family member the additional info is required?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    I would do it this way.
    1. Within Forms Editor, create 5 aMember signup pages that are custom designed for each plan.
    2. Then have a sales page that shows all the memberships and describes the benefits of each. From this page provide a "Join Now" button for each plan that links to the appropriate custom designed aMember signup page.
    Here is an example of that type of page.
  3. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Grant....that looks awesome the way you configured that....I am going to take your recommendation...So, I am trying to do that but when I create a secondary page referencing the signup.phtml template I keep getting these error message that will not allow me to create a secondary signup form....do I need to go into my server and basically rename the signup template to signup1.phtml, signup2.phtml? If so, I cannot find the signup.phtml template anywhere? As always, thanks for your help Grant.

    Attached Files:

    • csrf.jpg
      csrf.jpg
      File size:
      117.2 KB
      Views:
      16
  4. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    You don't have "secondary" pages referencing signup.phtml. As stated in earlier post, you create new forms with the Form Editor. In the documentation, this page explains how this is done.

    Nope, just read the documentation as earlier referenced.
  5. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    I was able to create one new form but I keep getting the CSRF error for any additional forms per my original screen capture. What is CSRF supposed to do?

    Attached Files:

  6. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Weird...now I went back to the one I created, try to edit it and got the same error message. I deleted it and tried to create a new one and get the same error message.
  7. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    I am not familiar with this error. However, based on your posts in this thread and other threads you seem to have a propensity to modify system files and templates and I suspect that is where the problem lies.

    You could try to perform a fresh install of all system files or submit a ticket and let aMember staff look at your installation.
  8. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Hey Grant....once again...YOU DA MAN. I did do a re-install in the same folder directory and got all sorts of funky error messages so then I did a new install in a new folder directory and creating new forms went very smooth. I am assuming much of your generous free help here on the forums might translate to potential paid support...so, I do not want to overstep your generosity of free tech support. BUT, I created my five forms and not quite sure what to do next.....I am guessing you must have hand coded the "tables" on your page...without doing it all for me, can you sort of point me in a direction how I would have a sales form then link to individual memberships levels with the appropriate fields? Thanks again for all your help around here.
  9. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    The best way to do this is to use HTML code to build a table to hold all the information. There are plenty of online tutorials about how to build a table with HTML.

    You build the table on a WordPress page and I would then add that page to the WordPress menu as something like "Products". On the page edit screen use the "Text" interface instead of the "Visual" interface since you will be working in HTML code.
    1. In your case you need 5 columns (one for each product).
    2. Use as many rows as you need to display the features.
    3. In the final row place the "Join Now" image that links (use anchor tag) to the correct signup form.
      1. In the "URL" column on the Forms Editor page right click on the link to copy the URL for the specific signup form.
  10. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Grant...once again you are so helpful. Good karma to you. :D I think one more question....you mention using the anchor tag....I know of that in Dreamweaver...but, not sure what you mean in this instance. As an example, I have my single membership just linking to this: membership/signup/index/c/single1 Is that what you mean? Per my attached snag you can see you get 100% credit for the layout. I really appreciate it']membership/signup/index/c/single1 Is that what you mean? Per my attached snag you can see you get 100% credit for the layout. I really appreciate it.

    Attached Files:

  11. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    It is a very common HTML tag used to create hyperlinks. If you had performed a simple Google search for "HTML anchor tag" you would have found plenty of information about. But to help move this thread to fruition, I'll cover it briefly below.
    • Basically - <a href="http://yahoo.com">Go to Yahoo</a> will make a hypertext link to yahoo.
    • In your case you will use the HTML anchor tag to have each graphic link to the appropriate signup form.
    • You get the link to the signup page from the Form Editor home page as shown in the image below. You can hover over the link and right click to copy the URL.
    • You will be using the anchor tag with an image instead of text so you will also have to use the image tag instead of text. Use the syntax below.
    <a href="http://linktoyoursignuppage.com"><img src="pathtoyoursignuppageimage" /></a>​
    form editor.png
  12. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Ok, I see what you are talking about....and, yes, Google is a wonderful thing I am just paranoid to the level of proprietary integration with amember. I actually am using a wordpress plugin that just lets me drop in the link...One last question:rolleyes:... You might have noticed that I created my own link text for the form index/c/single1 versus the random string generated. Is that a bad idea?
  13. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    That will work fine.

    Just link each graphic to the appropriate signup page using the anchor tag <a> and the image tag <img> as shown in the example above.
  14. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks again Grant....You have been a great help!
  15. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    :eek: I guess I lied. I have TWO more questions. I noticed on your site Grant there is no way someone is going to find a page called www.domain.com/membership ? Right? Meaning, I have created a Wordpress page that uses it's own pricing matrix with direct links to each membership plan. domain.com/membership is nowhere in my navigation menus but for now if I go to domain.com/membership/index.php there is the template text that says
    BUT, my actual signup page is just domain.com/join. So, should I not worry about the /membership/index.php page.

    Second question...and, I hope my last with this particular topic. With your guidance I have created my custom forms. Is there any purpose to keep the default signup form? Or, can I delete that? I just want to make sure that if I delete that it would screw up the whole template system.

    Thanks again .....

    Attached Files:

  16. lvtriclub

    lvtriclub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    oh, I just discovered something...the way this has been setup is that there are LOGIN links all over. I need to somehow make sure that if someone tries to login and their membership has expired it is routed to domain.com/join NOT domain/membership/signup/index.php.
  17. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    You are right in that I do not provide a link to the membership page to a site visitor (not logged in). However, I do provide a membership page link to the user once they are logged in. You can see a short video of this on this screen cast. If you want to implement this on your site you use two aMember text widgets and HTML hyperlinks to make it happen.
    That is because you are trying to access the membership page without being logged in. You should not provide a link to the membership page to someone that is not logged in and I doubt that a visitor is going to be compelled to type "http://domain.com/membership/index.php" into their browser address box.
    Yes, see the next post.
  18. gswaim

    gswaim CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    With this approach there may be a chance that a user could hit the default signup page. Therefore, you need to leave the original signup page in place and add all the products to it as a backup plan.

Share This Page