Custom field export

Discussion in 'Customization & add-ons' started by psy, Jan 27, 2006.

  1. psy

    psy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I've created a few custom fields, through the amember CP, and the ones using a CheckBoxes display type won't show a value on export or in the database. All it displays is "Array" for a value.

    Is there any way to get all the options selected to display on export?

    Also. I've noticed that in the amember CP when editing a user, any CheckBoxes displayed are clear, even if the user has selected them before.
  2. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Which aMember Pro version are you using?
  3. psy

    psy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    version 2.3.7PRO
  4. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Please contact us via helpdesk.
  5. mmba_webmaster

    mmba_webmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    I've experienced the same bug. In fact, I find the checkbox values aren't reliably saved by aMember.
  6. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Is you field storage type set to "SQL" or "common" ?
    Please set it to "common" (default) becaus it is required for checkboxes.
  7. mmba_webmaster

    mmba_webmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Alex: Do you have plans to fix this bug? I need my custom fields stored as normal SQL fields so they can be externally accessed.
  8. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    It is not a bug. Checkbox fields are arrays and they anyway could not be saved as usual integer or text fields.

    You can easily externally access "common" fields - load field "data" from "user" table, and run php "$arr = unserialize($data)". You will get array with field values.
  9. mmba_webmaster

    mmba_webmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    When aMember lets you config custom data fields whose values are not saved, it's a bug. The custom field user interface should be changed to prevent this situation. At a minimum, if this configuration does not work, it should be in the documentation.

    "You can easily externally access "common" fields - load field "data" from "user" table, and run php "$arr = unserialize($data)". You will get array with field values."

    And how can this be accomplished using a remote ODBC connection?
  10. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    We will add this note to the manual.

    You can do the same via remote ODBC connection, but unserialize PHP function must be running on other end.

Share This Page