Can I use Authorize.net ONLY as a gateway?

Discussion in 'Payments processing' started by jjun0366, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. jjun0366

    jjun0366 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Most merchant accounts use the Authorize.net gateway anyways. But does aMember require Authorize.net to be the merchant account or can I use it as a gateway only with the plugin?
  2. jjun0366

    jjun0366 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    can anyone help with this?
  3. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,274
    Can you explain what is the difference? I can't find any info about this in Authorize.Net site.
  4. jjun0366

    jjun0366 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    at the moment I'm assuming that this is not supported.

    What I mean is whether I MUST create and use Authorize.net to process credit cards?
    Or whether I can use another much cheaper merchant to process the payments as long as that merchant uses Authorize.net's gateway.
  5. JimmyStephans

    JimmyStephans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    If your merchant account is assigned to Authorize.net you can do it. That is not an aMember issue - that is done by the bank to supports the merchant account.

    You have to talk with the bank and have them assign the account to the gateway of your choice.

Share This Page