Amember vs ***4

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by johnobrian, Aug 29, 2008.

1. johnobrian

johnobrian New Member

Hey All,

I am a bit of a novice at all this, so would appreciate any help. Which one should I go for, Amember or *************

Both seem to do what I want (subscriptions via PayPal and Drupal integration) so what else should I be looking for? I just don't want to be kicking myself if I go with Amember and later wished I had gone with ***********. What other benefits/features should I be comparing them on? Response times, telephone support, etc...? What is important and what is just decoration?

I'm going to guess most people picked Amember here :) so what convinced you?

Sorry about all the questions, just want to get this right the first time:)

Cheers,
    John
  2. autograff

autograff New Member

Price was one (lower price, pay once; ******* has a setup fee and a quarterly license fee), support info was another. The support forum on MCP4 has very few posts, like it was launched yesterday. Same with their Wiki, which is displaying the default wiki install, not even any relevant text at all. The design of the ********** site is great, and they say they've been around since 1999, but they don't inspire confidence in their support. Amember is well documented, lots of helpful postings by an active community, it's easy to configure, does just what I want without trying to do more. Also doesn't need pages to be php. The combination sold me.

Richard
  3. skippybosco

skippybosco CGI-Central Partner Staff Member

Strange, I had responded to this earlier and now that post has been deleted.

I'll repost my response (as it is still in Yahoo's cache)