Am I missing something here - PayPal Pro?

Discussion in 'Payments processing' started by sybaris, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. sybaris

    sybaris aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Hello
    I have a PayPal account that has Standards and also has Pro enabled on it.
    I can set up standard with no problem, however I am confused with the PayPal Pro plugin.
    The plugin ask for API username, passowrd and signature.
    I've followed the instructions and logged in to my account.
    I don't see the API username, password and signature for Pro, only Standard. Instead there is a certificate for Pro... which is not the same as the fields in the plugin.
    I spoke to PayPal and the guy pretty much told me that using the Standard credentials in the Pro plugin will not work.
    I'm sure I can't be the only person who has tried to set up pro.
    The reason I want to use Pro is because it doesn't set a limit for the buyer to use PayPals guest account.
    If PayPal Express Checkout doesn't limit the guest account I could use that but I suspect they want everyone to go Pro.
  2. sybaris

    sybaris aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    anyone have any ideas?
  3. caesar

    caesar aMember Pro Developer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,862
  4. sybaris

    sybaris aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Hi Caesar, thanks.
    I will try it again.

    I may switch to Stripe if this doesn't work for me.

    One other question, I have PayPal Standard, Pro and Express for the same PayPal account.
    I notice that each of the plugins ask for a different IPN URL to be put in to my PayPal IPN setting.
    I can only put one in there. Does it matter if I use the same one for Pro and Express?
    The reason I ask is because I think I read that if you use PayPal Pro, you have to offer express to avoid extra charges from PayPal.

    Thanks
  5. caesar

    caesar aMember Pro Developer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,862
    IPN url within your PayPal account does not mater for aMember. Just IPN feature should be enabled.
    aMember send correct IPN url in payment request.

Share This Page