Add-ons / options when buying

Discussion in 'Installation' started by ironindian, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. ironindian

    ironindian aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I see there is a "Require ACTIVE subscription for" option

    If there is a NEW member signing up will the member be allowed to buy a product set up like this while signing up?

    When our members join/renew we have optional items that we would like to offer them at that time. Is this how that would be set up or is there another way?
  2. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    Youre question is a little confusing.
    Are you asking if you can allow multiple products to be ordered at signup- yes.
    Or, can you offer an additional products after the initial sale- yes.

    David
  3. robw

    robw CGI-Central Partner

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    "Require ACTIVE subscription for X" option means you have to already have a subscription for X to order that product successfully. If you don't have X, and you try to order, it will give an error.

    So a NEW member, without any products would only be allowed to order any options set with this option AFTER purchase of product X

    Cheers
    Rob
  4. ironindian

    ironindian aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry ... lets see if I can say it a little clearer.

    We have product's a,b & c

    When somoeone joins (buys product a) I would like them to have the option of buying product B
    Now if they buy a&b they would have the option to buy c ... they could even buy 2 or 3 of c.

    But they have to buy in that order.
  5. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    I think you need to use the allow feature.
    On product B, only allow if product A ordered (expired or active)
    On C, only allow if product B or C has been ordered (expired or active)

    Since you are forcing them up the ladder, I think the above is what you want.

    David
  6. ironindian

    ironindian aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    That didn't work the way I need it to. All the products were just added to the sign up page with radio buttons.

    I must be missing something.
  7. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    All products (that you choosed in Forms Editor -> "Product" brick -> "configure...") are displayed on order page.
    However, when you choose a restricted product to order, user will see error message.
    That is designed that way specially, so if you set Product brick to use checkboxes, it will work.

    Let me know if that is a problem and I'll try to suggest or develop a solution.
  8. davidm1

    davidm1 aMember User & Partner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,435
    Did you set the add on products to members page only?

    David
  9. ironindian

    ironindian aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Alex,

    I have a help ticket (Reference: YXK-96714-893) and I have drawn a flow chart to explain what I am hoping to be able to do. The chart is not perfect but I think it can help get the conversation on the right track.
  10. kimboy

    kimboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    If you don't have X, and you try to order, it will give an error.

Share This Page