Access to additional profile fields

Discussion in 'Customization & add-ons' started by steveg, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. steveg

    steveg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I have just installed aMember Pro and I'm trying to prepare it for my project.

    I need to be able to set up a number of 'interest groups' in a members profile and have the ability to email the member list depending on their interests.

    I can add the interest groups to the profile ok but I'm struggling to see how I can access this information in order to email just the right group of members.

    For instance if I have interest groups 'cats', 'dogs', 'snakes' and 'spiders' the user will specify which animals they are interested in when they sign up. When I have an offer say on 'spider cages' then I want to email everyone who has an interest in 'spiders'.

    Could you tell me how I might accomplish this please.

    Steve
  2. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Steve,
    unfortunately, aMember does not support this feature yet.
  3. steveg

    steveg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Alex,

    That's ok but is it possible for you to show me how to implement my own mailing system? I can handle the mail sending part but I need to know how to access the additional field data in each members profile.

    I've installed aMember into the same database that my main application will be using so I should be able to access the data ok. If you could tell me how best to get the data from the aMember tables it would help me a lot.

    Steve
  4. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Checkbox fields must be "common" type fields. Lets say you name field as "lists".

    Then you can do something like that in code:

    PHP:
    // non-expired users only 
    $q mysql_query("SELECT * FROM amember_users WHERE status = 1");
    while (
    $u mysql_fetch_assoc($q)){
      
    $data unserialize($u['data']);
      
    $lists $data['lists'];
     
    // do something with info
      
    print_r($u); print_r($lists);
    }
  5. steveg

    steveg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Alex,

    Thanks, I think that is just what I need.

    I've been reading the manual again and I was wondering whether I can use the global '$db' in my own php code. It looks as if the use is confined to the 'site.inc.php' file which would be located in my '/amember' folder. Can I use it from files in the root folder?

    If not I shall access the database directly as in your example. My concern is that it is possible for the database structure to change between upgrades but it is less likely that '$db' would change.

    Steve
  6. alex

    alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Steve,
    THIS database table won't be changed, so feel free to access it for reading directly.
  7. steveg

    steveg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Alex,

    That was a very emphatic THIS :) It's nice to use a stable product for a change.

    Steve

Share This Page