Able To Charge Taxes?

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by dustin, May 27, 2003.

  1. dustin

    dustin Guest

    Is it possible to charge taxes - for example have all subscriptions non-taxable and have products taxable only in one state? If so, is it possible to charge tax by counties?
  2. alex-adm

    alex-adm Guest

    yes, it is possible in aMember Pro.
  3. thepcman

    thepcman Guest

    How

    How to you apply taxes. I cannot find it anywhere in the manual
  4. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Enable taxes at aMember CP -> Setup -> Advanced.
    Go to aMember CP -> Setup -> Tax -> configure
    Go to aMember CP -> Manage Products and enable taxes if necessary.
  5. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Enable taxes at aMember CP -> Setup -> Advanced.
    Go to aMember CP -> Setup -> Tax -> configure
    Go to aMember CP -> Manage Products and enable taxes if necessary.
  6. thepcman

    thepcman Guest

    Thank you very much Alex.
  7. sam93

    sam93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Taxes not needed for subscription?

    Alex,

    From the wording of the intitial question in this thread it seems that taxes do not need to be charged on a subscription, just if a physical "product" is being purchased. Is that correct?

    Scott
  8. alex

    alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,020
    Scott, I guess it depends on your state regulations.
  9. runtowin

    runtowin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Question:

    I set up my state tax percentage - I assume that that will now charge taxes on the "trial period" price (the product price) - will it automatically not charge taxes on the subscription price, or do I have to set that up differently somewhere?

    According to my accountant, I need to charge tax for local residents if they download the product, but I don't need to on the subscription.
  10. CrackBaby

    CrackBaby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Go to aMember CP -> Manage Products and enable taxes if necessary.
  11. greatwhitebuffalo

    greatwhitebuffalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I just set up aMember and it's charging taxes to every state even though I set it up only to charge tax within one state. Any ideas how to fix this?
  12. mktrsmjo08

    mktrsmjo08 aMember Pro Customer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    I'm having a problem changing my tax settings - can anyone help?!!

    When I go to 'Setup/Configuration' > 'Tax Settings' all I see is this:

    aMember Pro Configuration : Tax Settings
    tax settings

    You currently have tax enabled for only 15 products (you have total 18). To enable tax for remaining products (if necessary), visit aMember CP -> Manage Products -> Edit : "Add Tax".

    Method 1 - Global Tax Settings
    Method 2 - Regional Tax Settings

    Save Back


    ---------------

    How do I check or change my settings!?

    Help ?
  13. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,274
    It seems there is a problem with javascript that is used on above page. Contact us in helpdesk and provide access info we will check what can be wrong.
  14. amj94

    amj94 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    there are different tax rates in different States and Countries, so how to manage this with aMember Pro? [​IMG]
  15. alexander

    alexander Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6,274
    You need to add them in aMember CP -> Setup -> Tax

Share This Page