Clueless how to get started with my idea, please assist...

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by peeve, Aug 13, 2009.

1. peeve

peeve New Member

Ok, here's the deal. I have a great idea for a subscription website, but i have no clue how to go about starting it. I'm not clueless with computers, as i am a Computer Science major. However, all i'm remotely familiar with is C++ programming (i also sat out the past 2 semesters, so i'm even rusty in that category), not web design or html. From what i've read on other sites, and here, it seems that aMember is the way to go.

First and foremost, how do i start? Keep in mind, the only thing i have right now is the idea in my head. Correct me if i'm wrong, but i believe that aMember is like the internal-workings of the site. They don't assist in creating the website itself. Which leads me to the main question, how do i do this? What is good, inexpensive, easy-to-use web design software? Like i said, i know a good bit about computers, but nothing about web design.

This site is mainly for membership. It will have a cheap, monthly fee. There will be only one way to pay...monthly. I've run through it in my head, and cutting a deal for a multi-month/year subscription isn't an option.

The site will need:

1. Forums
    2. Monthly voting system (1 vote per account each month, 1 account per IP Address)
    3. Easy-to-use monthly subscription service (aMember?)
    4. Good quality
    5. Cheap cost (while maintaining site quality, of course)

A few additional questions:

What payment services (Paypal, etc.) have the cheapest cost for me to use them? I read somewhere that they charge around .50 per transaction. I'm planning on my site having a very cheap membership fee, so this could be a problem.

If a member of the site were to find out my Paypal account ID (or whatever service i use), is it possible for them to hack it and steal my money?