Concerns over password security

Discussion in 'Pre-Sales Questions' started by token, Dec 11, 2006.

1. token

token New Member

I am checking out aMember as a posibilty for the base of a system to centralise memberships over a network of vbulletin forums after seeing it recommended on vbulletin.org.

I have installed the trial on a test site and am initially impressed with its clean design and functionality. I have only been messing around with it for a couple of hours, but one thing does concern me: storing user passwords as plain text.

I have several user account on sites all over the internet, and like many other people (i assume), I use the same password(s) often. As a customer, it worries me that site admins (and their host) have the ability to easily read my password, and, as a site admin, I want to have my arse covered by not being able to read them.

So the questions are: why does aMember need to store the user passwords as plain text? And are there any options to using password hashes instead?
  2. alex

alex aMember Pro Customer Staff Member

Unfortunately, that is currently impossible to change. The reason why we don't use hashes is http://www.amember.com/integration.php

Almost every script tries to be original and stores passwords in its own format, so aMember needs clear-text password for integration. Unfortunately, it is currently impossible to avoid. We have ideas how to fix it, and it will be done in aMember4, but no ways yet.
  3. tomfra

tomfra Member

I ditto that. Storing passwords in plain text is not a very good idea IMHO, but I understand the reasons. I think the admins should be able to choose whether they want to have passwords stored in plain text, or crypted at the cost of 3rd party plugins integration problems.

Well, yes, to a degree. But the vast majority of 3rd party scripts will either use MD5 hash, crypted MD5, Standard DES, Extended DES, or BlowFish. In fact 98%+ of them will probably need just MD5 hash or crypted MD5.